DTS-NET, LLC, owned and operated by Craig and Russell Gendrolas out of Connecticut, is a vague, shifty reseller of a variety of technology services, including ISP, telecommunications, web hosting, and many others to the point that I am sure they are also resellers of Tupperware products and Avon. DTS-NET, specifically Craig Gendrolas, has stolen my domain names. When I signed up with them for web hosting my two domains, FZ1Club.com and FZ-Club.com, without my knowledge DTS-NET registered the domains in their name and with their contact information. This is illegal and a violation of ICANN policies for domain registrations. *I* purchased these domains with DTS-NET merely acting as an intermediary because I chose them as my host provider. In July 2004, I started having problems with my websites being down and unavailable to me or my site visitors for days at a time on a weekly basis. The DTS-NET.COM website clearly states that they guarantee a 24/7/365 up-time for their webhosting clients. I do not think they understand the word, guarantee or what 㦄/7/365 means. Maybe they saw these things on a legitimate web hosting site, and just cut & pasted the information over to their site, sort of like what they did with the Better Business Bureau Online logo that they copied from the website of their telecommunications agency. DTS-NET is not even listed with BBB, BBBOnline, or any similar organization, and probably never will be because Im sure the BBB has a nice stack of complaints against DTS-NET, even though they are not even members of the BBB.
DTS-NET was not reachable by phone, email, FAX, or even US Mail for over two, solid months. These two gentlemen are supposed to be technology suppliers (telecommunications, webhosting, etc.), and they cannot even keep their email addresses active (email is returned with delivery errors at all their addresses), they do not answer the technical support phone calls (or return messages), and even their fax line (1980s technology!) gives an error, This line is not properly configured. Finally, they do not list their US Mail address anywhere on their website. I no longer wonder why. All of their telephone numbers, including Sales, Corporate, Technical Support, Customer Support, etc., whether toll or toll-free, all go directly to the same voicemail (actually, its probably a $12 digital answering machine). I have never had a human answer that phone, and I have called them hundreds of times. The answering message is some barely coherent, mumbling voice that implies that any second now the next available customer service representative is going to pick up the line and help you, but it always just immediately beeps and you have to leave a message. Nice "help desk" scam.
So, I gave up and decided that it was time to move my domains to another host provider. However, since the domains are registered in Craig Gendrolas name and/or with the DTS-NET contact information (specifically their bouncing email address), there is no way for me to change host providers and keep the same domain names. The domain registrar companies will only change the DNS settings for the domains if the request comes from the person (specifically the email address) that is registered as the owner of the domain. They have stolen my domains.
After two months of contact attempts, they apparently finally caught up on their technical support email, or at least realized that their email accounts were bouncing. In response to my third and final request to have the domain registration information be put in my name, they sent the following email:
From: DTS-NET [mailto:dtsnia@yahoo.com]
Sent: Wednesday, September 22, 2004 4:34 AM
To: InternetPilot
Subject: Re: FINAL Request: Change My Domain Registration Information
your domains are working
you have the service your sites are working
so we our not a fault on not providing you your services and your statements in your request are not tech or sales related and the domains we paid for it was a promo to save you money and you can always buy them off of us or just wait for next year when they expire and you can buy them off of internic and you can contact your attorney he will tell you the same thing
Good Day
Obviously, they failed Grammer and Punctuation, as well as English in school, or maybe they are just attending the appropriate grades to learn these things now. Given my experiences with the poor way this business is being run, it would not surprise me in the slightest to find out that it is actually being run by a couple of teenagers merely serving as webspace resellers, operating out of their college dorm room, parents garage, or sisters basement. Again, they are supposed to be a telecommunications company, and they do not even realize that Internic no longer registers domain names directly?
I have reported them to ICANN, the Better Business Bureau Online, and the Florida State Attorney Generals Fraud Department. I have also requested a refund for my web hosting fees (paid one year in advance) from PayPal and my credit card company.
Unless you feel like getting your domains stolen, and do not care if your website is available more than 50% of the time, I would highly recommend staying away from DTS-NET.
Recommended: No
Monthly fees (US$): $5
Hosted on Secure Server: No
Main focus of Web site: Publishing/Content
Read all 9 Reviews
|
Write a Review