2007 Hugo nominations announced

Mar 29, 2007 (Updated Sep 23, 2010)

The Bottom Line Announcing the nominations for the 2007 Hugo Awards.

UPDATE: The awards were presented 1 September 2007 in Yokohama, Japan. The names in boldface are the winners.

Nippon 2007, the 65th World Science Fiction Convention, this week announced the nominees for the 2007 Hugo Awards for excellence in the speculative fiction genre in 2006. The Hugo Awards honor both professional and fan work.

The winners will be announced at the Hugo Awards Ceremonies during Nippon 2007 (aka Worldcon 65), in Yokohama, Japan, on Saturday, September 1.

The Hugo Awards ballots will be mailed to members in a special mailing in addition to being included in Progress Report 5, scheduled to be mailed in late April. Online voting will be available to all eligible voters, and printable versions of the ballot will also be included on the Nippon 2007 web site. Only supporting and attending members of Nippon 2007 may vote on the Hugo Awards.

To join Nippon 2007 and vote for the works and people who were the best in 2006, go to the Nippon 2007 website for more information, http://www.nippon2007.us

The 2007 Hugo Awards nominations include finalists in 14 categories, plus the John W. Campbell Award, listed below. There were a total of 409 nominating ballots cast.

2007 Hugo Award Nominees

Eifelheim by Michael Flynn (Tor)
His Majesty's Dragon by Naomi Novik (Del Rey: Voyager 1/06 as Temeraire)
Glasshouse by Charles Stross (Ace)
Rainbows End by Vernor Vinge (Tor)
Blindsight by Peter Watts (Tor)

"The Walls of the Universe" by Paul Melko (Asimov's April/May 2006)
"A Billion Eves" by Robert Reed (Asimov's October/November 2006)
“Inclination" by William Shunn (Asimov's April/May 2006)
"Lord Weary's Empire" by Michael Swanwick (Asimov's December 2006)
Julian: A Christmas Story by Robert Charles Wilson (PS Publishing)

"Yellow Card Man" by Paolo Bacigalupi (Asimov's December 2006)
"Dawn, and Sunset, and the Colours of the Earth" by Michael F. Flynn (Asimov's October/November 2006)
"The Djinn's Wife" by Ian McDonald (Asimov's July 2006)
"All the Things You Are" by Mike Resnick (Jim Baen's Universe October 2006)
"Pol Pot's Beautiful Daughter (Fantasy)" by Geoff Ryman (Fantasy and Science Fiction October 2006)

Short Story:
"How to Talk to Girls at Parties" by Neil Gaiman (Fragile Things, William Morrow)
"Kin" by Bruce McAllister (Asimov's February 2006)
"Impossible Dreams" by Tim Pratt (Asimov's July 2006)
"Eight Episodes" by Robert Reed (Asimov's June 2006)
"The House Beyond Your Sky"" by Benjamin Rosenbaum (Strange Horizons September 2006)

Related Book:
About Writing: Seven Essays, Four Letters, and Five Interviews by Samuel R. Delany (Wesleyan University Press)
Heinlein's Children: The Juveniles by Joseph T. Major (Advent: Publishing)
James Tiptree, Jr.: The Double Life of Alice Sheldon by Julie Phillips (St. Martin's)
Cover Story: The Art of John Picacio by John Picacio (MonkeyBrain Books)
Worldcon Guest of Honor Speeches by Mike Resnick and Joe Siclari, eds. (ISFiC Press)

Dramatic, Long Form:
Children of Men, screenplay by Alfonso Cuaron and Timothy J. Sexton. Directed by Alfonso Cuaron. (Universal Pictures)
Pan's Labrynth, screenplay by Guillermo del Toro
The Prestige, screenplay by Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan. Directed by Christopher Nolan. (Touchstone Pictures)
A Scanner Darkly, screenplay by Richard Linklater. Directed by Richard Linklater. (Warner Independent Pictures)
V for Vendetta, screenplay by David Lloyd. Directed by James McTeigue (Warner Bros.)

Dramatic, Short Form:
Battlestar Galactica, ""Downloaded"" Writers Bradley Thompson and David Weddle. Directed by Jeff Woolnough. (NBC Universal/British Sky)
Doctor Who, ""Army of Ghosts"" and ""Doomsday"" Written by Russell T. Davies. Directed by Graeme Harper. (BBC Wales/BBC1)
Doctor Who, ""Girl in the Fireplace"" Written by Steven Moffat. Directed by Euros Lyn. (BBC Wales/BBC1)
Doctor Who ""School Reunion"" Written by Toby Whithouse. Directed by James Hawes. (BBC Wales/BBC1)
Stargate SG-1, ""200"" Written by Brad Wright, Robert C. Cooper, Joseph Mallozzi, Paul Mullie, Carl Binder, Martin Gero, and Alan McCullough. Directed by Martin Wood. (Double Secret Productions/NBC Universal)

Editor, Long:
Lou Anders (Pyr)
James Patrick Baen (Baen Books)
Ginjer Buchanan (Ace Books / Roc)
David G. Hartwell (Tor Books)
Patrick Nielsen Hayden (Tor Books)

Editor, Short:
Gardner Dozois (The Year's Best Science Fiction)
David G. Hartwell (Year's Best SF/New York Review of Science Fiction)
Stanley Schmidt (Analog)
Gordon Van Gelder (Fantasy and Science Fiction)
Sheila Williams (Asimov's)

Pro Artist:
Bob Eggleton
Donato Giancola
Stephan Martiniere
John Jude Palencar
John Picacio

Fan Writer:
Chris Garcia
John Hertz
Dave Langford
John Scalzi
Steven H Silver

Semi Prozine:
Ansible edited by Dave Langford
Interzone edited by Andy Cox
Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet edited by Gavin Grant and Kelly Link
Locus edited by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong and Liza Groen Trombi
The New York Review of Science Fiction edited by Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell, and Kevin J. Maroney

Banana Wings edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer, ed.
Challenger edited by Guy H. Lillian III
The Drink Tank edited by Chris Garcia
Plokta edited by Alison Scott, Steve Davies, and Mike Scott
Science-Fiction Five-Yearly edited by Lee Hoffman, Geri Sullivan, and Randy Byers

Fan Artist:
Brad W. Foster
Teddy Harvia
Sue Mason
Steve Stiles
Frank Wu

Campbell Award:
Scott Lynch (1st Year)
Sarah Monette (2nd year)
Naomi Novik (1st year)
Brandon Sanderson (2nd Year)
Lawrence M. Schoen (2nd Year)

As part of the transition between rule sets, the sponsors of the John W. Campbell award extended the eligibility for writers whose eligibility was reduced to one year because of the rules change that went into effect in 2006. This will only affect the awards for 2007.

As a result of a change ratified by the World Science Fiction Society in 2006, the former Best Professional Editor category has been replaced with two categories: Best Editor, Short Form and Best Editor, Long Form.

UPDATE—2 April 2007

An error was made in the initial tabulation of the nominations. After an audit, a correction was announced in the Dramatic Presentation, Long Form. The changes were made above accordingly.

For a list of the 2010 nominees and winners, please go to 2010 Hugo nominations announced.

For a list of the 2009 nominees and winners, please go to 2009 Hugo nominations announced.

For a list of the 2008 nominees and winners, please go to 2008 Hugo nominations announced.

Read all comments (1)

About the Author

Epinions.com ID:
Member: Adrienne Foster
Location: California
Reviews written: 292
Trusted by: 80 members
About Me: Edward Anderson Foster RIP 1924-2012