Me Oh My, How the Time Does Fly: A John Hartford Anthology by John Hartford

1 ratings (1 Epinions review)
Share This!
  Ask friends for feedback

Product Details

This collection of 18 tracks was assembled from nine albums John Hartford recorded for the Flying Fish label. It's a wonderful overview of an important chunk of his lengthy career. It ranges from the solo (and Grammy award-winning) MARK TWANG material to assorted studio settings with like-minded cohorts (the Dillards, Buddy Emmons, etc.). Hartford's most well-known number, " Gentle On My Mind" (a big hit for Glen Campbell), is drawn from his ALL IN THE NAME OF LOVE album. There's one cut from the live release THE FESTIVAL TAPES, a wonderful extended version of "Nobody Eats At Linebaugh's Anymore" (one of the high points of the essential MORNING BUGLE) with a quartet that includes Sam Bush on guitar. Hartford employs such a relaxed manner that one can be lulled into forgetting just how high the level of the playing is throughout. Hartford is a major figure in American music, who updated traditions, giving them his own winning character in the process.