Odessa by Bee Gees

2 ratings (2 Epinions reviews)
Share This!
  Ask friends for feedback

Product Details

The Bee Gees: Barry Gibb (vocals, guitar); Maurice Gibb (vocals, piano, organ, bass); Robin Gibb (vocals). Recorded at IBC Studios, London, England. Personnel: Barry Gibb (vocals, guitar); Maurice Gibb, Robin Gibb (vocals); Vince Melouney (guitar); Eric Weissenberg (banjo); David Katz (violin); Paul Buckmaster (cello); Colin Petersen (drums). Recording information: IBC Studios, London, England. Director: Bill Shepherd. ODESSA stands as one of the great British pop albums of the '60s, right up alongside such tours de force as SGT. PEPPER, ODYSSEY AND ORACLE, and S.F. SORROW. In fact, while it's full of elegant baroque pop gems, ODESSA's range even extends beyond its aforementioned peers, delving over the course of its double-length into everything from Gospel to country. Songs like "Melody Fair" employ all the pop smarts the Gibbs earned early in their career and apply them to a much more sophisticated scope of song structure. The seven minute-plus title song is a centerpiece here, an epic account of a sh...

Key Information


July 07, 1987

Song List: Disc 1


Odessa (City on the Black Sea)You'll Never See My Face AgainBlack DiamondMarley Purt DriveEdisonMelody FairSuddenlyWhisper WhisperLamplightSound of LoveGive Your BestSeven Seas SymphonyWith All Nations (International Anthem)I Laugh in Your FaceNever Say Never AgainFirst of MayBritish Opera